Belgian Foreign Ministry: "Nagorno-Karabakh is the territory of Azerbaijan"

Belgian Foreign Ministry:
"Even though Jean-Jacques Flahaux who visited Nagorno-Karabakh is a member of the Belgian Parliament, he does not represent the Belgian state," Belgian Foreign Ministry said in response to the inquiry from the Western European Bureau of Report News Agency.

It was noted that for the Belgian state, Nagorno-Karabakh is the territory of the Republic of Azerbaijan. Since the establishment of ceasefire in 1994, this self-proclaimed territory has not been recognized by the international community:

"From that moment Belgium has been supporting the Minsk Group efforts for the peaceful settlement of the conflict on the basis of the consent of both parties."

Notably, Belgian MP Jean-Jacques Flahaux and his deputy paid an illegal visit to the Azerbaijani territories occupied by Armenia on October 30.